Asking Jesus into our hearts as an Act of Spiritual Communion

While talking to a friend on the phone tonight, I thought of another entry for the Catholic/Protestant Dictionary post.

Protestants encourage people to pray a simple prayer called the Sinner’s Prayer, and to ask Jesus into their hearts. I first did this when I was six or maybe seven years old. I wrote about that experience in my post called The OSAS pattern is present in Catholic practice.

What I didn’t mention in that post is how when I first became Catholic, I spent a short period of time with a sense of mocking or derision for that prayer. It was clear to me that it’s not in the Bible, and so it seemed like a blatent oversight that “Bible alone” Christians would encourage people to pray it. I didn’t spend much time in that mindset though. This is because at some point I realized that the Sinner’s Prayer can be thought of in Catholic terms: it is a simple Act of Contrition. And so I included this in the Catholic/Protestant Dictionary post. But I did not realize that the prayer to ask Jesus into my heart has it’s own Catholic equivelant, until talking to my friend this evening.

Catholics have a prayer called the Act of Spiritual Communion. There are several versions and they are all pretty similar from what I’ve seen. Here is one I just found on the EWTN website:

My Jesus,
I believe that You are present in the Most Holy Sacrament.
I love You above all things, and I desire to receive You into my soul.
Since I cannot at this moment receive You sacramentally,
come at least spiritually into my heart. I embrace You as if You were already there and unite myself wholly to You. Never permit me to be separated from You.
Amen.

Just as the Sinner’s Prayer is a simple Act of Contrition, it seems that that the Protestant prayer to ask Jesus into our hearts is a simplified form of the Act of Spiritual Communion! At least, I think it was for me when I first prayed it as a little girl.

That makes me feel really good. 🙂

Author: everybodysdaughter

I'm an adult child of divorce, having been raised in multiple divorce/remarriage situations. I'm writing in order to shed light on the problems of divorce from the perspective of the child. I will also discuss problems with other non-triad family structures, since there is a lot of overlap. People often think that better parenting skills will overcome problems in non-triad arrangements. While I agree that parenting skills are important, they cannot overcome the problems I discuss such as fractured ontology and perpetual liminality. I converted to the Catholic faith in 2012, and will discuss Catholic things from time to time as well.

10 thoughts on “Asking Jesus into our hearts as an Act of Spiritual Communion”

  1. Well he struck on mine this morning. LOL!!! I knew he would. Luckily one has to have an approved comment before they will be able to comment. I did not even read them and deleted. I am so grateful to the “delete” button. Yep, dog poop all over the floor this morning!!!! 🙂 God Bless, SR

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 1) You keep making unfounded accusations. 2) You do not have the right to use the Bible the way you use it. 3) You do not have authority over me. 4) You don’t know how to think clearly, and you don’t know this about yourself–you imagine that you DO know how to think clearly. 5) You have accepted as infallible and dogmatic the words of somebody else about the Catholic Church, without investigating the matter for yourself. For example, you admit that you’ve never been to a mass yet insist that the Church hates Scripture. Such a thing could not be said by somebody who had actually attended a mass. 6) You are committing blasphemy. 7) You continue to show pronounced disrespect to me and it is borderline harassment. Leave me alone.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I do not blame you for this. If this is who I think it is, gravatar has changed by I can only imagine what was said to you. I had to do the same on my other blog. Things such as this in the Christian world is so sad to me. I always say, “There is no one any meaner then a mean Christian.” Take care dear friend and God Bless, SR

        Liked by 1 person

          1. I just never approved him to begin with, so when he posted those comments I did not even read them. Just hit the delete button.

            I went to his blog and remembered a post he had done, that is how I figured it out. Also the “Whore of Babylon” was used about a thousand times, so it was a pretty safe bet. Sorry you were attacked. God Bless, SR

            Liked by 1 person

            1. I have open commenting but it is mainly because I’m lazy and don’t want to have to approve them first! haha and I dunno, I guess I just assume people will be kind. It’s worked pretty well for the most part but yea once in a while a stray dog finds his way into my living room and shits on the carpet! LOL Poor soul. He’s got to be miserable.

              Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

