My song this morning

I woke up this morning with this song in my mind and heart, Create in me a clean heart:

Then a little while later, I read the Bible readings for today. There is a section of the mass called the Responsorial Psalm. It is when a section from the Psalms is read, and the congregation responds. Today’s is from Psalm 81, and it made me smile.

R. Sing with joy to God our help.
Take up a melody, and sound the timbrel,
the pleasant harp and the lyre.
Blow the trumpet at the new moon,
at the full moon, on our solemn feast.
R. Sing with joy to God our help.
For it is a statute in Israel,
an ordinance of the God of Jacob,
Who made it a decree for Joseph
when he came forth from the land of Egypt.
R. Sing with joy to God our help.
There shall be no strange god among you
nor shall you worship any alien god.
I, the LORD, am your God
who led you forth from the land of Egypt.
R. Sing with joy to God our help.

 

Author: everybodysdaughter

I'm an adult child of divorce, having been raised in multiple divorce/remarriage situations. I'm writing in order to shed light on the problems of divorce from the perspective of the child. I will also discuss problems with other non-triad family structures, since there is a lot of overlap. People often think that better parenting skills will overcome problems in non-triad arrangements. While I agree that parenting skills are important, they cannot overcome the problems I discuss such as fractured ontology and perpetual liminality. I converted to the Catholic faith in 2012, and will discuss Catholic things from time to time as well.

5 thoughts on “My song this morning”

  1. Everybody’s Daughter–

    Coming from a large, stable, close-knit two-parent family, I weep for the trials life has put you through. I only pray my wife and I can continue to be strengthened to meet our own kids needs for covenant faithfulness.

    I was a Keith Green fanatic back in the day. So, so sad he died so soon. Really resonated with his spirit of total commitment.

    He was, you know, virulently anti-Catholic. Caused a huge rift between him an John Michael Talbot.

    I always have to laugh to see Luther’s “A Mighty Fortress is our God” in Catholic hymnals and “Faith of our Fathers” (written to honor Catholics persecuted and martyred by Anglicans) in Protestant hymnals!

    Like

    1. Yes I am familiar with Keith’s newsletters. I think he was railing against what he thought the Church taught, rather than against what the Church actually taught. I feel very confident that he is with the Lord.

      Like

      1. ebd–

        That could be. Keith’s forte was not theology. He got caught up in Finneyite soteriology, which is basically Pelagian.

        But he had such a good heart….

        Like

      2. ebd–

        Fulton Sheen famously wrote the following:

        “There are not over a hundred people in the United States who hate the Catholic Church. There are millions, however, who hate what they wrongly believe to be the Catholic Church — which is, of course, quite a different thing.”

        And Sheen was NOT saying, “Well, we pulled the wool over the eyes of the overwhelming majority of Americans, but there are still a few who know we’re full of crap!” Those hundred he mentions he undoubtedly considers wicked. They know that the truth of God resides in the Catholic Church, and they reject it nonetheless.

        If one presumes the truth of Catholicism, then, in general, those who reject it will have misunderstood it.

        If one presumes the falsehood of the Catholic faith, then people can in good faith understand it and reject it. (It may also be true that Catholics, at times, have not understood themselves.)

        Clearly it’s not up to me, but I would share your confidence in Keith’s salvation despite some horrendous theology on his part. His song “Except for Grace by which I’m Saved” sounds eminently heartfelt.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

