SolarBeat: musical solar system model

Check out this site. It is an interactive display of the solar system. It shows all of the planets and their speed relative to each other.

As each planet crosses the horizontal line, it plays a note. They all have different notes. You can adjust the speed to make the planets go slower or faster.

In the screenshot that I took, Mercury has gone around the sun 825 times, and Pluto has not gone around even once.

This site has been around for a long time; I discovered it years ago, maybe even before the divorce. I had kind of forgotten about it for a while, but remembered it just the other day. I couldn’t immediately remember the name, but googled around a bit until I did.

It shows the relative speeds, but not the relative distances or sizes. That is super fascinating, but it is another post.

http://www.whitevinyldesign.com/solarbeat/

solarbeat

Author: everybodysdaughter

I'm an adult child of divorce, having been raised in multiple divorce/remarriage situations. I'm writing in order to shed light on the problems of divorce from the perspective of the child. I will also discuss problems with other non-triad family structures, since there is a lot of overlap. People often think that better parenting skills will overcome problems in non-triad arrangements. While I agree that parenting skills are important, they cannot overcome the problems I discuss such as fractured ontology and perpetual liminality. I converted to the Catholic faith in 2012, and will discuss Catholic things from time to time as well.

Leave a Reply

