Caterpiller Road

One summer, I was driving home from someplace with the kids in the car. Or maybe I was driving to someplace, I am not sure. But one of the roads that we took was covered in caterpillers! They were everywhere. There were thousands of them. Many had been squashed by cars.

Being a homeschooling family, naturally I pulled over to a safe spot and let the kids out to see them. There was a field on one side of the road, and they were migrating from there. We ooo’d and aaah’d, and wondered why they were there, how long they would last, and how many there were.

We decided to collect a few, so we went home and got a couple boxes, then came back to get them. We took them home, and they turned into crysalises. Not sure how long they stayed crysalises, but eventually they became moths.

I don’t remember how long they were there in the field and on the road, but it was more than a day. Eventually, they were all gone. I wondered if we would ever see them there again, but to my knowledge it never repeated in that location or any location near us. The field that was there was eventually built up, with houses I believe.

Ever since that time, we called that street Caterpiller Road. I had never seen anything quite like what we saw there. The only thing that came close was when I was at the university in the mid 1980s, where I once witnessed the Monarch butterfly migration.

caterpillar road

Author: everybodysdaughter

I'm an adult child of divorce, having been raised in multiple divorce/remarriage situations. I'm writing in order to shed light on the problems of divorce from the perspective of the child. I will also discuss problems with other non-triad family structures, since there is a lot of overlap. People often think that better parenting skills will overcome problems in non-triad arrangements. While I agree that parenting skills are important, they cannot overcome the problems I discuss such as fractured ontology and perpetual liminality. I converted to the Catholic faith in 2012, and will discuss Catholic things from time to time as well.

1 thought on “Caterpiller Road”

Leave a Reply

