Where family members are buried

I don’t know if this is too much of a grim topic, but I thought it might be good to list the places where family members are buried.

My dad is buried in the Riverside National Cemetery. His plot number is 14-404.

A few family members on my mom’s side are buried in Fairhaven Memorial Park in Santa Ana. Larry, my grandmother Mary, my grandfather George (they were divorced), and my aunt Laurie. She was their middle child, between Grandma and Auntie Joanie. She died at the age of nine from heart issues. I never knew her.

My great-aunt Esther and great-uncle Paul are buried in one of the Catholic cemeteries in Los Angeles. Esther is Mary’s older sister. Ga (their mother, my great-grandmother) is buried in Corona del Mar. She died when I was 19. Her first husband is my great-grandfather from Ireland who died in the 1920s of TB. His name is Ferrell O’Biren (not sure of the spelling), and he is buried in a veteran’s cemetary somewhere. Grandma thought maybe in Riverside, but when I asked her if it was the same place as my dad, she said probably not since that cemetery is relatively new.

On my dad’s side, my grandmother and grandfather (Beatrice and Arthur, also divorced) are buried in OKC or thereabouts. Rebecca and I went to her funeral in the fall of 1994. I was pregnant with Joel. The pictures of Rebecca and Jessica (my cousin Teri Dawn’s daughter) were taken at that time. My dad has three sisters, two older and one younger than him. One of the older sisters, my aunt Helen, died in about 2002 of breast cancer. She was cremated and some her ashes were scattered in the mountains near Gunnison, Colorado, and the rest were buried in a cemetery there. Uncle Terry, Teri Dawn’s father and Aunt Jeannie’s husband, died in June of 2016. He is probably buried somewhere in OKC. I have a first cousin once removed, Pete Barber, who died suddenly in about 2010, I believe. He is one of Janice’s sons (Janice is one of my first cousins, my aunt Helen’s eldest daughter). He is buried in Gunnison next to my Aunt Helen.

As of right now, all of my first cousins are still alive on both sides of the family.

Author: everybodysdaughter

I'm an adult child of divorce, having been raised in multiple divorce/remarriage situations. I'm writing in order to shed light on the problems of divorce from the perspective of the child. I will also discuss problems with other non-triad family structures, since there is a lot of overlap. People often think that better parenting skills will overcome problems in non-triad arrangements. While I agree that parenting skills are important, they cannot overcome the problems I discuss such as fractured ontology and perpetual liminality. I converted to the Catholic faith in 2012, and will discuss Catholic things from time to time as well.

Leave a Reply

