Wild Animal Park trips

I spent the evening with Rachel and Alex on Sunday. We chatted about different things, and it turns out that Alex has never been to the Wild Animal Park. Rachel and I were incredulous at that, since it’s not far away. I took the kids there many, many times when they were growing up. I asked Rachel how many times she thinks we’ve been there and she said 100. I laughed and said, “It can’t be that many!” We did go a lot of times, but I don’t think it was 100. That would be ten times per year for ten years. Maybe it was 8 times per year for nine years, which would be 72–still a lot. Plus the times the girls went with the Girl Scouts. So I dunno… lots of times though.

We had a membership so it was super cheap to go. Lots of times we went when I was too worn out from homeschooling. It became a field trip, and we had lots of them. We also went to the Zoo and Balboa Park from time to time, but the Wild Animal Park was much closer to home. The food there was super expensive and not that great, so I’d pack a lunch for us to save money.

So many fun and interesting animals to see there. Was the bird show our favorite? Not sure but it was super cool.

We saw tigers, rhinos, giraffes, cheetahs, zebras, flamingos, and many others. It’s called the Safari Park now. The name was changed in 2010, I think. We are going to try to plan a trip out there soon so that Alex can see it. It will bring back a lot of wonderful memories.

Author: everybodysdaughter

I'm an adult child of divorce, having been raised in multiple divorce/remarriage situations. I'm writing in order to shed light on the problems of divorce from the perspective of the child. I will also discuss problems with other non-triad family structures, since there is a lot of overlap. People often think that better parenting skills will overcome problems in non-triad arrangements. While I agree that parenting skills are important, they cannot overcome the problems I discuss such as fractured ontology and perpetual liminality. I converted to the Catholic faith in 2012, and will discuss Catholic things from time to time as well.

1 thought on “Wild Animal Park trips”

Leave a Reply

