Potato seeds

potato seeksOne time, before the kids were born, Dad and Curtis and I lived together in a small house we all rented on York Drive in Vista. We were at the dinner table, talking about planting a garden. Somebody mentioned planting potatoes. Either Curtis or I asked a question about potato seeds. We might have asked what they look like or where you get them.

I don’t remember the exact question we asked, but whatever it was, Dad started laughing so hard! He thought it was the funniest question. Curtis and I just looked at each other. We didn’t understand what was so funny. He said that potatoes don’t have seeds, that you just cut up a potato and grow a new potato plant from it. We all laughed about it, and it became one of those inside jokes as years went on.

Even though potato plants can be started from cut up potatoes, and in general this is considered the better way to grow potato plants, I was never convinced that potatoes don’t have seeds. That just didn’t make sense to the way I understood basic botany. So I went along with the laughter but inside I always wondered.

Author: everybodysdaughter

I'm an adult child of divorce, having been raised in multiple divorce/remarriage situations. I'm writing in order to shed light on the problems of divorce from the perspective of the child. I will also discuss problems with other non-triad family structures, since there is a lot of overlap. People often think that better parenting skills will overcome problems in non-triad arrangements. While I agree that parenting skills are important, they cannot overcome the problems I discuss such as fractured ontology and perpetual liminality. I converted to the Catholic faith in 2012, and will discuss Catholic things from time to time as well.

Leave a Reply

