Animal farm

We had a lot of different kinds of animals while the kids were growing up. We had the “normal” ones, such as cats and a dog. Our dog, Annie, had three litters of puppies before I got her spayed. They were so adorable and the kids cried when we had to find them new homes.

We also had:

  • Chickens
  • Turtles
  • Turkeys
  • Geese
  • Cockatiels
  • Guinea pigs
  • Hermit crabs
  • A king snake (very briefly)
  • Rabbits, not as pets, as food. That’s another story. 😦
  • We took care of a ferret briefly. It belonged to a neighbor and had gotten loose in our yard.

I think having animals was good for the kids. I’m glad we lived on a piece of property that was big enough to make it work, .72 acres if I remember correctly. It is actually two lots with two different assessor’s parcel numbers. I always loved that property.

I didn’t love the structure of house, although I did appreciate the amount of work Dad put into it, and the quality of work he did. He is a craftsman and it shows. But the floorplan never sat well with me, and that aspect of the house was out of his control. There is only so much even a good craftsman can do, unless you tear the whole thing down and start from scratch.

But the land? Whole other story. I loved the land, which has mature trees, including mature fruit trees, and amazing views. We had vegetable gardens many years, and that was always fun. In the summer the kids loved to sit in the tomato patch and eat the tomatoes when they were ripe. The winter gardens did better than the spring/summer gardens, I think, because there was more rain, and fewer bugs and weeds. In the winter we planted lettuces, radishes, green peppers, spinach, broccoli, beets, onions (onion planting day is Nov. 10 in southern California). In the summer we planted corn, tomatoes, squash, green beans, radishes. We probably planted other things but I don’t remember what they are right now.

Author: everybodysdaughter

I'm an adult child of divorce, having been raised in multiple divorce/remarriage situations. I'm writing in order to shed light on the problems of divorce from the perspective of the child. I will also discuss problems with other non-triad family structures, since there is a lot of overlap. People often think that better parenting skills will overcome problems in non-triad arrangements. While I agree that parenting skills are important, they cannot overcome the problems I discuss such as fractured ontology and perpetual liminality. I converted to the Catholic faith in 2012, and will discuss Catholic things from time to time as well.

Leave a Reply

