The guilty conscience problem: France bans video of Down Syndrome kids

Here’s a perfect example of what a guilty conscience will do.

A French TV channel has banned a video featuring smiling children with Down syndrome over fears it may offend women who have had abortions.

The Council of State ruled that the short pro-life video could “disturb the conscience of women who, in accordance with the law, have made personal life choices”.

Judges upheld a ban previously imposed by the French Broadcasting Council.

Read the whole thing here:

French TV bans advert with smiling Down’s syndrome children as it might ‘DISTURB’ women who have had an abortion

Here’s the video that was banned:

 

Author: everybodysdaughter

I'm an adult child of divorce, having been raised in multiple divorce/remarriage situations. I'm writing in order to shed light on the problems of divorce from the perspective of the child. I will also discuss problems with other non-triad family structures, since there is a lot of overlap. People often think that better parenting skills will overcome problems in non-triad arrangements. While I agree that parenting skills are important, they cannot overcome the problems I discuss such as fractured ontology and perpetual liminality. I converted to the Catholic faith in 2012, and will discuss Catholic things from time to time as well.

2 thoughts on “The guilty conscience problem: France bans video of Down Syndrome kids”

  1. I’m still absolutely dumbfounded by this… they *should* be disturbed! Abortion is a huge wound that disturbs… I have yet to meet a woman who has survived unscathed. Even worse, many I know who have had abortions carry a deep guilt that reveals itself in the way they speak about it, attempts to explain, excuse, and show themselves as absolutely ok–as in, “who are you trying to convince, me or yourself?” If that makes sense… actions like this by the French govt I think will only worsen feelings of guilt and multiply it, as most women already carry guilt, and then are exposed to the constant message in secular media that they shouldn’t feel guilty and everything is great, which then causes guilt that something must be wrong with them that they the wound at all… it breaks my heart, because I see women whom I love deeply suffering greatly as a result of their choice to have an abortion… women are equally victims of the lie of abortion…

    Also, off topic, I just have to say, I really appreciate and enjoy reading your blog. There are so many things you are able to point out due to your experience and perspective that, on the one hand, makes complete logical sense (such as your ven diagrams showing the pull on children of divorce and how it is they who are forced to contort their lives to the parents, and how this inverts the proper roles–it should be the parents sacrificing for the sake of the child), but I haven’t see talked about anywhere. It needs to be talked about. Thank you 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the encouragement! I appreciate it a lot. Sometimes I feel discouraged so I appreciate the input very much.

      What the French govt did here is mind-blowing, isn’t it? Sexual “liberation” must be propped up by the govt. It cannot stand on its own.

      Like

Leave a Reply

