POLL: Am I an abortion survivor?

I need some help. I’m not really sure how to classify myself. My mother got pregnant with me when she was 19. She and my dad (and me of course), went to Mexico to get an abortion. When they got there, the abortion doctor told her that she was too far along with me. So they walked in to get an abortion, and walked out with me still intact. So it’s not as if I survived an actual abortion attempt. But it was pretty close. I want your input:

Should I call myself an abortion survivor?

Does it fit? I like it since it gives me some quick-credibility in the discussion. On the other hand, I don’t want to mislead anybody into thinking that I underwent an attempted abortion procedure and survived it.

So I’m not really sure if a qualify to use that label. But it would feel really great to be able to say something like this:

I’m an abortion survivor and I think you’re full of shit for supporting abortion. Your support for abortion is as if you are saying to my face:

“I’m totally fine with you not even being here. I’m fine with your body being burned until you die with saline, or torn apart limb from limb, then thrown into the medical waste like trash or sold for medical research. Because #freedom!”

Do you know what it’s called when your freedom costs somebody else their life? It’s called war. You send innocent human life into “battle” to die for your “freedom.” It is disgusting and you should be ashamed of yourself. You don’t have a right to something that can’t be guaranteed–you never had a right to pregnancy-free coitus. Your cry for freedom is a cry to remain immature and irresponsible. Stop advocating for the slaughter of the unborn and grow up. You never had a right for pregnancy-free coitus. If you don’t want to bring a child into the world, then don’t have sex. It’s really and truly that simple.

Yep, that feels good, gratifying, honest.

Here’s Gianna Jessen, giving testimony to the House Judiciary Committee in 2015. She was born alive during a saline abortion. Obviously, she qualifies as an abortion survivor:

Maybe I’ll use the label, and if anybody questions it, I can link back to this post. What do you think?

Author: everybodysdaughter

I'm an adult child of divorce, having been raised in multiple divorce/remarriage situations. I'm writing in order to shed light on the problems of divorce from the perspective of the child. I will also discuss problems with other non-triad family structures, since there is a lot of overlap. People often think that better parenting skills will overcome problems in non-triad arrangements. While I agree that parenting skills are important, they cannot overcome the problems I discuss such as fractured ontology and perpetual liminality. I converted to the Catholic faith in 2012, and will discuss Catholic things from time to time as well.

14 thoughts on “POLL: Am I an abortion survivor?”

  1. I don’t have an answer but I’m sure that was painful to know your parents didn’t even want you. I am sorry. Sometimes though I believe that those of us who go through such pain are here to be a light to the world. Whether you use a label or not, I’m glad you are expressing your opinions even if others disagree. God gave you a voice and I’m glad you use it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think abortion your fixed on is more about you feeling unwanted or uncared about or perhaps unloved because you felt that through out the relationships your mother and father had were more important than children they had. I would just jump off the abortion bandwagon. The woman in your video is making herself look like a nut. I think you should write about being Everybodys daughter. That is the title that made me read your column I know now a days myself included people are married multiple times and we don’t realize how it effects our kids until they are grown. That is the mass audience children of divorce. SO Everybody’s daughter is perfect.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Interesting question. I would say that you can’t call yourself an abortion survivor because there was no abortion to survive. However, you should definitely come up with some other label to ease communication. Words are not my thing, but something like “abortion escapee” or “abortion dodger”? I’m sure someone else can come up with something better. It’s really important that abortion survivors and escapees, like yourself, talk openly about the issue and penetrate through the pro-choice propaganda that women have been taught to armour themselves with.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think your making something out of nothing . If you have to label yourself you are loved. You were raised by kids who when they first found out they seem to have not been married and they freaked out for minute. God’s intervention brought you into the world . Instead of trying to give yourself a cause , a horrible label give yourself a hallelujah label .

    A child of God , who by his intervention helped two scared kidso make the right decision.

    Your a “Blessed Intervention” baby.

    There is your label. BLESSED INTERVENTION.

    Why make yourself sound like a victim when you were actually so blessed? Work on feeling blessed not feeling bad because of what your parents “almost” did. Your not a victim .

    Like

    1. Here’s my perspective on that. The culture has been telling me my whole life to “get over it,” that I’m loved, etc. Believe me, I tried, I tried hard, I tried for decades, to just step over all my feelings about everything that happened. But it didn’t work. All that sort of talk did was to shame me into ignoring my gut feelings, ignoring my grief and my pain. I know now that grief has to be processed and that it doesn’t go away by ignoring it. While I appreciate the label of blessed intervention, I can’t accept it, at least not yet. What about all the others who did not receive intervention? So God cared enough about me to intervene but he didn’t care enough about millions of others to not intervene with them? I can’t accept that, at least not now, not yet.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Do you feel guilty to have lived while the others didn’t? This is something you can’t control . The only person you have or should have say over is your body. Your not a mistake you were just unexpected. When my son’s father walked off and left me 6 months pregnant no explanation except he changed his mind about a baby after talking me into it. My mother brow beat me the rest of my pregnancy give it up for adoption day and night you don’t want to be strapped with that sob kid. Go on with your life I couldn’t. I wanted my child I was 21 though and grew up early. Every one is different . The person you are the baby you were have zero to do with her trying to abort she was trying to cover up having sex to her parents and the world was different . Young girls were shamed and ruined by an unexpected pregnancy afraid to tell their parents they didn’t want to disappoint or get in trouble . It had nothing to do with you as a baby or child it had to do with the situation .

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

