Blended-family testimony: we still feel like two families

Here is a post from somebody who has lived through the “blended family” experience as a child.

Ordinary Blended Family

I appreciate her honesty, I really do. There is a lot there that is very open. However, her evaluation of her step-sisters distressed me. As I read her post, pictured myself as one of her step-sisters and could relate to feeling the way she described them.

Just read it and you will see themes that I’ve been talking about here.

Author: everybodysdaughter

I'm an adult child of divorce, having been raised in multiple divorce/remarriage situations. I'm writing in order to shed light on the problems of divorce from the perspective of the child. I will also discuss problems with other non-triad family structures, since there is a lot of overlap. People often think that better parenting skills will overcome problems in non-triad arrangements. While I agree that parenting skills are important, they cannot overcome the problems I discuss such as fractured ontology and perpetual liminality. I converted to the Catholic faith in 2012, and will discuss Catholic things from time to time as well.

2 thoughts on “Blended-family testimony: we still feel like two families”

  1. Thank you for comment. I read that blog entry a couple dozen times before I decided to go ahead and post it. Because yes, it distressed me as well how I see my step-sisters, then and now. There is no way for me to know what they were feeling as our family walked the blending exercise. We did not communicate, then or now. So, I can only write what I was feeling, and what I perceived from them. Both are decidedly negative, which is unfortunate as I am sure that all of us have something of value we should have been sharing all these years.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

