Study: kids of same-sex parenting are depressed

This study really upsets me. It’s not rocket science. When you deprive somebody of half of who they are, when you force them to pretend that half of who they are does not exist, and supplant half of who they are with falsehoods… they get depressed. This was predictable, and predicted. Same-sex parenting is, by definition, codified step-parenting. And we already know that there are significant elevated risk factors for children in step-parenting households. Here’s an infographic from the linked article:

paul sullins study 2016-06

This is outrageous. I am so upset! And people are fighting for the right to do this to children! It is profoundly wrong.

About those “no differences” studies involving same-sex parenting: pretty much any study you see that reports “no difference” between kids in same-sex households and kids raised with their married bio parents uses convenience samples of same-sex couples. This means that the results cannot be generalized to the entire population… yet they always are in the popular media. But what might be worse, to my way of thinking at least, is that the respondents often know the studies goals! They know what the researcher is hoping to find. And the political Left takes these studies as absolute truth. This is madness.

I hope it’s clear that I am not singling out homosexuals. I’m as critical of other so-called “diverse” family forms as I am of same-sex parenting. What some people say is “family structure diversity,” I say is “family structure inequality.” And the science is on my side. Children who are not raised with their married mother and father have greatly elevated risk factors for negative outcomes. That’s a fact.

 

Author: everybodysdaughter

I'm an adult child of divorce, having been raised in multiple divorce/remarriage situations. I'm writing in order to shed light on the problems of divorce from the perspective of the child. I will also discuss problems with other non-triad family structures, since there is a lot of overlap. People often think that better parenting skills will overcome problems in non-triad arrangements. While I agree that parenting skills are important, they cannot overcome the problems I discuss such as fractured ontology and perpetual liminality. I converted to the Catholic faith in 2012, and will discuss Catholic things from time to time as well.

2 thoughts on “Study: kids of same-sex parenting are depressed”

  1. Hmm..maybe I’m not quite understanding what your saying but in my opinion I think that it is only a problem because its change and “different” for the world and kids of same-sex parents are outnumbered in a way by kids of male/female households so they are being made to feel like its a “bad” thing to have two moms or two dads and for some or most of those kids it is bashing them because they might also like the same-sex..I am 31 years young and have known I’ve liked females since I was a child and developed the knowledge of sexual and/or sensual feeling but I was made to believe that those feelings were wrong so I was afraid of being myself and was an introvert for a long time because of that and still am at times to this day, it goes both ways if that makes sense. So I’m thinking these “studies” are not very legit because who’s to say why these kids are actually depressed and/or suicidal there are numerous reasons not just because they are living in a same-sex home or opposite or single parent or single/absent parent for that matter..

    Like

Leave a Reply

