What I love about Protestants and Evangelicals

Even though I am Catholic and proud to be Catholic, at times I have fallen into Catholic triumphalism, which is not a good thing.

I admit to feeling a certain amount of frustration with Protestants/Evangelicals at times. I could list the reasons for it but won’t since the frustration is not justified. I’ll just say that I have handled it with varying degrees of success. For example, I recently had a conversation with my mother (an Evangelical) about the difference between Catholic and Protestant, and was happy with myself for how I handled it. But there were times in the past where I engaged online with Evangelicals and other Protestants, and I was not nearly as charitable as I should have been. I regret those times.

However, when I see how sincere they are in their faith, it touches me. As a Catholic I know they are Christians by virtue of our common baptism, our common Christology, and other doctrines we share such as the Trinity. In addition to those things, here are a few other things I think they have right. These are just off the top of my head. There are probably others:

  • They are on fire for the Lord.
  • They are not afraid to evangelize the world.
  • They respect and know the Bible.
  • I love their heartfelt prayers, such as the Sinner’s Prayer.
  • They are patriotic.
  • They stand for unborn human life and God’s definition of marriage.
  • The Protestant work ethic is real, and good.
  • I love the worship music they create, such as this song:

It is worth noting here that I was baptized in middle school at the local Presbyterian church, after going through their catechetical program. And was not re-baptized when I entered the Catholic Church in 2012. As I was preparing to enter the Church, this really made a positive impression on me, since my baptism was personally very meaningful for me as a Christian.

I realize that there are gradations and distinctions among Protestants and Evangelicals, so I don’t mean to be saying that they are all the same. I also don’t want to give the impression that I am advocating indifferentism. I just thought it would be good to write something sincere and good about them so that any reading my blog can understand my heart a little better. It seems like there is a fine line between acknowledging the important areas where we agree while not advocating that our differences are irrelevant. I am still figuring how to walk that line.

In the mean time, I hope you enjoy these great worship songs created by Protestants:

Author: everybodysdaughter

I'm an adult child of divorce, having been raised in multiple divorce/remarriage situations. I'm writing in order to shed light on the problems of divorce from the perspective of the child. I will also discuss problems with other non-triad family structures, since there is a lot of overlap. People often think that better parenting skills will overcome problems in non-triad arrangements. While I agree that parenting skills are important, they cannot overcome the problems I discuss such as fractured ontology and perpetual liminality. I converted to the Catholic faith in 2012, and will discuss Catholic things from time to time as well.

5 thoughts on “What I love about Protestants and Evangelicals”

  1. Protestant to RC convert here. I identify (ha! how’s that?) as a Cafeteria Catholic. Christians outside of the Roman Catholic church, that you mention follow more closely to the Gospel teachings of Jesus Christ. I think they still miss the mark somewhat. I have a love / hate relationship with the Roman Catholic Religion, not my own church or God. I think our “mission” on earth is to be Disciples for Christ and that in doing so, bringing people to a loving God. – I’ve been behind in reading due to life off line. I just last night to catch up on what people are writing. I am enjoying our page. Keep writing.
    Blessings,
    Laurie

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Laurie! I resonate with some of what you say here. I’m also a Catholic convert who believes that we need to lead people to a relationship with Jesus. I’m reading a book called Evangelical Catholicism by George Weigel and it’s REALLY good. He critiques so-called progressive Catholics as well as traditional/conservative Catholics, while pointing to something else that they both lack. I’m about a third of the way through and so far it’s very inspiring. Have you read it?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I am not Catholic, but one of my favorite singers is Audrey Assad who is a Catholic. If you haven’t heard of her, go check her out. She just released a cd of hymns…beautiful!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

