I love being Catholic

I really love being Catholic. It makes me so happy just to write those words. I wish I could convey my love so that others could see what I see.

The Church is a good mother.

She helps me grow closer to Jesus. She teaches me how to pray. She loves art, music and beauty.

holy familyShe taught me about marriage and the family. She showed me how they are a reflection of the Trinity. This insight is the the firm foundation for all of what I write about here.

She gave me my baptism and my confirmation. She gave me Sacred Scriptures and teaches me what they mean. She gives me the fulfillment of John 6:53 every Sunday, the body and blood of our Lord, as He commanded.

She gave me an identity, one I will have forever.

I know these things because she is His bride, and she loves her Bridegroom. They are one. Where she is, He is. Where He is, she is.

I believe in one, holy, catholic and apostolic Church. I love the one, holy, catholic and apostolic Church.

Author: everybodysdaughter

I'm an adult child of divorce, having been raised in multiple divorce/remarriage situations. I'm writing in order to shed light on the problems of divorce from the perspective of the child. I will also discuss problems with other non-triad family structures, since there is a lot of overlap. People often think that better parenting skills will overcome problems in non-triad arrangements. While I agree that parenting skills are important, they cannot overcome the problems I discuss such as fractured ontology and perpetual liminality. I converted to the Catholic faith in 2012, and will discuss Catholic things from time to time as well.

17 thoughts on “I love being Catholic”

  1. Everyone’s Daughter–

    I likewise adore the Holy Catholic Church and could recite your article above word for word from the depths of my heart.

    I’m just not crazy about Rome.

    My wife and I have practiced NFP from the start of our marriage. We consider it part of being fully pro-life. (All of the Reformers were utterly opposed to contraception!)

    Sola Scriptura prioritizes the Bible but does not make it our only authority. There’s simply no need for the “table of contents” to be in the original. Nor is there really any need to have Sola Scriptura itself be found in Scripture. It is the default setting for every divine revelation in every religion (including Judaism) except for Roman Catholicism. And the whole notion of an infallible interpreter (the magisterium) is something which developed over time. It is an innovation that was not there from the beginning.

    Like

  2. It’s also interesting that “Ask Jesus into your heart” and “Ask Jesus to be your personal Lord and Savior” are nowhere to be found in scripture. However, “Take up your cross,” “Deny yourself” and “Follow me” are (MT 10:38, MT 16:24, MK 8:34, LK 9:23).

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Good morning!

      Well, this was an unexpected shock when I woke up earlier this morning. lol

      Not sure where to begin.

      I first gave my heart to Jesus when I was six years old. I do it every morning after wake up. I try to make it the first thing I do.

      I used to be a Protestant. I love my Protestant brothers and sisters and there are many things I admire about them. I mean this!

      BUT.

      I will never be a Protestant again. There are a number of reasons for this and I am unsure which to discuss. If I discussed them all it would take more time than I want to spend right now. For many years I feared the Church but I see now that those fears were based on false ideas. It also makes sense to me that Satan would smear God’s Church with all sorts of false labels, in order to keep people away.

      1. Like a magnet, I pivoted towards the Church once I put the pieces together regarding the role of contraception in the demise of marriage and the family, and how the Catholic Church was the only Christian institutional body that was still upholding the ancient Christian teachings on that subject. I read portions of Humanae Vitae, and saw that it was prophetic. I was still not a Catholic yet but once I saw this it really spun me around towards the Church. I remember the experience so clearly. In short: contraception splits the sexes apart. Once that is accomplished in people’s minds, all of the other ills regarding sex that we see today are logical outcomes.

      2. There are two foundational aspects of Protestantism that I saw are self-refuting. Self-refuting means that it contains a contradiction and so cannot be true. When I saw this (among other things), I began to be less and less persuaded that the reasons for the Reformation were well grounded. And, that if those reasons lack a solid foundation, the Reformation amounts to a false split away from the historic Christian Church, which would be the Catholic Church.

      2a. Sola-scriptura (SS) is self-refuting. SS teaches that it is binding on Christians and that only teachings from Scripture are binding on Christians (not other traditional teachings). But SS itself is not taught in Scripture nor is it a historical Christian teaching.

      2b. Please take a moment to open your Bible and turn to the page near the beginning where it lists the books contained therein. It might be called “Contents.” I just did and this is what I see:

      Genesis
      Exodus
      Leviticus
      Numbers
      and so forth until we get to
      Revelation

      Many years ago, before I became Catholic, I read the Bible cover to cover at least five times. I can say with 100% certainty that this list is not located between Genesis 1:1 and Revelation 22:21. There is no mention of a list of books of the Bible, nor is there mention of an authoritative body that spent time codifying that list.

      This means that the list, which is called the canon, is extra-Biblical.

      SS teaches us that only teachings found within Genesis 1:1 to Rev. 22:21 are binding on Christians. How can we then accept, as infallible no less, a list that is not located within Scripture?

      I was serious when I asked you to open your Bible. Look at that list in your own Bible and meditate on its origins. I think you will see, as I did, that the Church existed before the Bible. I would not know what the Bible even is, except for the Church.

      I realize others will disagree. As I said at the outset: there are many things I admire about my Protestant brothers and sisters. I know God loves them and that they are Christians. If they fear the Catholic Church, I understand this because there was a time when I did too. But now I realize that the fear was not from God: “For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.”

      Liked by 2 people

    2. I redacted parts of your comment. The more I thought about them, the more uncomfortable I got. You came into my space and hurled unsubstantiated accusations against my Church. I won’t tolerate it. If you want to make an argument, that’s fine. Go ahead and make an actual argument. I will be happy to listen and respond. But fear-mongering based on Chick Tracts doesn’t count as an argument, and that’s all you’ve done.

      Liked by 1 person

        1. You did not respond to my argument. Instead, you lodged another unfounded accusation. If you would like to continue here, you will need to either make an argument, respond to the argument I made, or just say something nice. Unfounded accusations are not welcome here. There are plenty of other places to make them. This blog is not one of them.

          Liked by 1 person

        2. I’m not comfortable with the way in which you choose to engage me. I’ve made the parameters clear, and they are reasonable: make an argument, respond thoughtfully to the argument I made, say something nice, or say nothing. I redacted all of your unfounded accusations since they made me feel uncomfortable. I don’t want to feel uncomfortable on my own blog.

          If you decide to respond the way I have asked, you are welcome here.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

